Retreat

hello earthlings! 🙂sampahh
I just finished reading Blue-Eyed Devil by Lisa Kleypas, and it was basically a novel about how Haven Travis married with the wrong guy (Nick Tanner) and happen to meet Hardy (the ‘blue-eyed devil’ guy) after she divorce with her good for nothing husband . I’ve been following the novel since the first book , Sugar Daddy and so I watched the story progress, I witnessed their bond and I feel her loss and their relationship. It’s relatable, and it’s yet another self-reminder on how we should move on from our past histories and appreciate the people that we love us while they are still present in our lives.
The novel pretty much got me thinking to myself, how people always express their regrets and say the words “should have” when it’s already too late. Why do we only say “I should’ve held on to him,” or “I should’ve hugged him at that point when I had the chance” only when we can’t do those things anymore. We are the people who take each other for granted. I am so tired of hearing the same line, feeling the same feeling and utter the same thing over and over again. When are we ever going to learn? It is so easy to lose someone, to have a chance slip through your fingers, to have something you thought was permanent being taken away from you. Do you notice how we only appreciate something more when it’s taken away from us?
Everytime I remember how I sometimes forget to prioritize my mom, it upsets me. I see how hard she tries to give me the best in life and how she’s always doing this cute gestures and trying to win me over and get my attention. I am honestly blessed with this wonderwoman who deserves much better treatment than I have ever given her. I think sometimes we momentarily forget, that our parents aren’t growing any younger and we should know better, that they are going to leave us any moment now because really, since when has age been the only reason of death? We have got to start remembering what’s most important in life. Friends and lovers, just like the seasons they come and they go. But family? They’re the only ones that stay. Everything you do, no matter how ugly a side of yourself that only they have seen, they still accept you. You are still living under their roof. Who else would be able to provide you with that? I believe family are the only ones who will never grow tired of you, never give up on you and never make you feel alone. And how are we contributing in that role as a fellow family member? We expect and we take yet are we sacrificing and are we?
Taking back from what I just read, Haven married Nick beyond her parents’ wishes and without any expectation, her marriage turns into a huge disaster. With her brother’s help, she ran away from her nightmare and moving on with having a job at Hardy’s business company. I can imagine Hardy as Christian Grey – successful, smart, rich, handsome and has everything that he wants! but moving on is not easy for Haven as she tried to recover from her past nightmare. As typical as it is, she ignore Hardy’s sweet and flirtatious treatment to win her heart. This is the part where I guess you can conclude ‘you cannot simply turn down the person who has love you and sacrifice everything for you’. Hardy is like Sandy Man who simply kills all her nightmares and turned them into lovely dreams, basically made her a better person compared to Nick. After awhile, she kindda loss him and regret for ignoring his true act of kindness. Here’s the part where she puts all her effort and find him back to gain his love. I’m not going to spoil the story, but indeed this is the best book by Lisa Ive read after the Sugar Daddy.
I suppose it’s because I’ve been through some things that made me realize that fact. I may have despised the situation I was in at the time but now I see it as both a lesson and a blessing more than anything. I would’ve never known to appreciate people who are significant rather than the opposite if I haven’t had to go through so much shit at this age. If you haven’t gone through it yet, there will come a time that you feel like the person you have now is everything you have! and turn down those who never forget to care about you! but sooner or later an incident or two will reveal the truths of it all.

The point of this post is to remind you to pay more attention to what’s going on in your house and your circle, spend more quality time with your parents who are growing older by the day, go for coffee once in a while with your siblings to get updates on each others lives as you both understand how busy one and the other are, spend more time embracing the love you and your partner have for each other rather than picking small fights, keep in touch with that old friend who’s never forgotten you, fill the lives of your friends with good vibes and allow yourself to do and say nice things to people no matter how random they might find it. Because nothing lasts forever and regretting isn’t going to turn back time.


Do it while you still can.

“One of the blessings human beings take for granted is the ability to remember pain without re-feeling it. The pain of the physical wounds is long gone …and the other kind of hurt, the damage done to our spirits, has been healed. We are careful with those scarred places in each other. “

Leave a reply ;

